Home > film, reviews > Review: AVATAR.

Review: AVATAR.

12.22.2009

James Cameron has done what I thought to be unachievable. Never did I think it was possible, nor had I even entertained the thought of it happening. But he’s done it. James Cameron has created a likable Michelle Rodriguez character. Bravo, Mr. Cameron. BRAVO.

Ok, seriously. (Although I was being serious about Michelle Rodriguez. I have never liked her before in anything she’s been in, she was capable of borderline ruining a film for me.) I was lucky enough to snag tickets to a 3D IMAX preview of Avatar on “Avatar Day” (August 21st). I was extremely pumped as anyone else would  be who has been following the progress of the movie for quite some time and hearing the rumors of the technology and 3D immersion. It was just under 20 minutes long, and it was a few different sequences cut together, completely out of context. I had not watched the released trailer yet, because I felt it would spoil the IMAX experience. I was also seeing District 9 right afterwards and was able to go from seeing the IMAX 3D preview of the Avatar trailer to the regular 2D trailer running prior to District 9.  I knew right away that anyone comparing the two, or knocking the 2D trailer for it’s realism or “wow” factor were vastly uninformed. There’s no comparison to seeing it in 3D. This is not opinion, it’s fact.

Read the rest of the article at my domain, www.cineastejohn.com.

  1. 12.23.2009 at 8:58 am

    You didn’t even like Michelle Rodriguez as Anna Lucia?? Was grade A acting!

  2. 12.30.2009 at 10:25 pm

    Hey my friend- Great review. Just wanted to let you know that I’ll be reviewing it once my gf gets back from her Christmas vacation. She got to see it with her family and said that it rocks. I have my reservations towards CGI… but as long as there is story, great character, dialogue and attempts to accomplish something beyond what is already out there… I’m totally game. I’ve always been a James Cameron fan and I know just what he’s capable of (which is just about anything!). Again, great review. I literally laughed out loud regarding M. Rodriguez. I kinda feel the same way, except I feel that she has that quality that James Cameron admires. Let me make my point! – In the movie Aliens, you have the strong, latino marine Vasquez. Then, he re-hires her as the stepmother to John Connor in Terminator 2. Cameron loves those “strong women” roles and thus, hires the meanest, most testosterone-filled latina out there! bet you didn’t make that connection, eh? Cheers. Michael Joyce (The Joyce Review)

  3. 12.30.2009 at 10:35 pm

    I’ve always quite disliked Michelle Rodriguez, but touche on bringing up the “strong woman” point, as Cameron is well-known for his female roles. I didn’t think of Rodriguez in that way here though, and funnily enough, although that’s exactly why I’ve come to dislike her in everything because she plays up that role too much, in “Avatar” she doesn’t really take on that persona.

    And on your “reservations towards CGI,” I was such an advocate of the “film look” and how poorly used digital can be (poster child = Public Enemies), but no longer. “Avatar” has made me see that film really is dead. And honestly I’m not too sad about it having seen what the future is.

  4. 01.1.2010 at 3:57 pm

    I concur with the Michelle Rodriguez comment. And I really did like her in this. I am not sure WHY you think Avatar is the most important film of the decade. I thought it was good. I liked it. The whole animation is truly amazing. I liked the storyline. Liked the characters. Don’t have anything bad to say about the movie. I agree with your whole review, just would like you to clarify exactly “WHAT” makes it so important.

    • 01.1.2010 at 4:42 pm

      The answer to that lies in my second post about Avatar, “The Future of Cinema: Avatar Revisited.” I can’t really say more than that. Well I could, but it would be much more detailed from a technical standpoint, and I tried to keep that to a minimum while touching on the main points.

  1. 01.12.2010 at 12:40 am
  2. 02.10.2010 at 9:27 am
  3. 02.23.2010 at 9:06 pm
Comments are closed.
