Home > LOST, reviews, tv > The LOST Experience.

The LOST Experience.

12.22.2009

I came into LOST a little late near the beginning of Season 2. I was in college and my parents called me insisting that I watch the Pilot. They had bought it off iTunes, watched it on a plane, and immediately raved about it. I had a vague familiarity with LOST; people were stranded on an island from a plane crash, there may or may not be dinosaurs involved, etc. But I had no idea what I was about to get myself into.

I blasted through the Season 1 and was immediately caught up to the live airing episodes of Season 2. During Season 2, I had downloaded a Dashboard widget which counted down 108 minutes, and would beep during the final 4, during which you had to input the numbers to reset it, just as they do on the show. Forgetting I had the widget, my roommate and I were watching an episode one night when we heard the familiar alarm. But it wasn’t coming from the TV and we were both sitting there wondering what was going on. Yep, it was my computer. Good times.

Read the rest of the article at my domain, www.cineastejohn.com.

  1. 12.22.2009 at 7:48 pm

    As your sophomore roommate and fellow LOST junkie, I thank you for this well thought piece of writing, for allowing me to reminisce about the 12 hour straight periods we’d watch LOST and skip class, and for getting me psyched for Season 6!

  2. Uncle Jim
    12.23.2009 at 7:24 am

    WoW!!! very concise and well written. But you never mentioned Gandolph at all. Ha Ha
    Only a couple things come to mind after reading that review.

    “Dude, You got a little Arnst on you”. Hugo “Hurley” Reis, Exodus Part Two

    “Yes, I am ready. I ask for no forgiveness, Father, for I have not sinned. I have only done what I needed to do to survive. A small boy once asked me if I was a bad man. If I could answer him now, I would tell him that when I was a young boy, I killed a man to save my brother’s life. I am not sorry for this. I am proud of this. I did not ask for the life I was given, but it was given nonetheless, and with it, I did my best…” – Mr. Eko, The Cost of Living

  3. Uncle Jim
    12.23.2009 at 7:28 am

    One Other note. No Pun Intended. My prediction is that Lost will end with a similar twist to the Sopranos. Open ENDED FINISH

  4. Doug
    12.30.2009 at 6:53 am

    I can see what you are saying…but i have a strange feeling that the show will set a precedent that you did not mention…the LOST finale will be one of the biggest disappointments in TV history!

    If they end up landing in LA i will make it my life goal that “J.J. Abrams, Damon Lindelof, Carlton Cuse, Jeffrey Lieber, Jack Bender & all the rest of the writing and creative team” are miserable for the rest of their lives…’

    That said, well written…

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
