Home > film comments > The Future of Cinema: Avatar Revisited.

The Future of Cinema: Avatar Revisited.

12.24.2009

Okay, I know it’s been less than a week since I professed my undying love for giant blue aliens in the form of a college length essay, but I’ve got more to say. In my Avatar review I stated that it’s one of the most important films in the history of cinema. A statement like that needs to be explained.

Read the rest of the article at my domain, www.cineastejohn.com.

  1. 12.29.2009 at 5:52 pm

    Love your writing style! You are absolutely right about the “experience in the moment” feeling that can never be replaced. Your wit is felt throughout the article along with your intelligence. Now I have to go see the film!

  2. 12.30.2009 at 10:48 pm

    C.J. (you don’t mind that I call you that, right?) Anyway… just got through commenting on Avatar. (I’m playing a bit of catch-up with your blog). I completely agree with Avatar as “a glimpse into the future.” Now keep in mind I haven’t seen it yet; just heard the hype. I suppose I’m a bit old-school, but motion capturing, CGI and the lot can never truly portray what an actor or actress can. Recreation is not creation and the one thing that scares me is that we will have a multitude of super-realistic Jar-Jar Binkish films where actors give life to something that is significantly “less than” what could be recreated more creatively. For example, E.T. was more-or-less a sock puppet.. but was a real to me today as it was when I was a kid. But one look into the eyes of a District 9 alien and I’m screaming “damn the animation!” I share your love for Cameron and I am looking forward to being amazed. I’m likely to love it (as I do with most of J.C’s works) however, I’m not looking forward to every director’s “crack at it.” I say leave the big projects to the experienced and genius directors. Peace, and Happy New Year! Michael Joyce (The Joyce Review)

    • 12.30.2009 at 10:54 pm

      Do you not like Gollum in LoTR? What Zoë Saldana does here, and how much life she brings to this role is astounding. You can feel her emotion and it runs straight through the screen. If you click through to the link I posted from WIRED, there’s a picture side-by-side of real Zoë and Neytiri, and just shows how real and true the motion capture performance is. The Na’Vi are alive in ways that extend beyond any CG creation ever seen before. I just saw “Avatar” again a few hours ago, and even more so than the first time this was confirmed to me. The Na’Vi are as alive as any human, and in fact, the performances from the Na’Vi characters blow away the human performances.

  1. 02.10.2010 at 9:27 am
  2. 02.27.2010 at 8:40 pm
Comments are closed.
