Home > film, reviews > Quickfire reviews. (1.11.10)

Quickfire reviews. (1.11.10)

01.11.2010

Last weekend I was searching for a movie to go see in theatres. I had seen The Princess and the Frog on Friday, and wanted to check out a matinee on Sunday. I couldn’t justify spending money to see Sherlock Holmes. I just can’t find any interest there. Why is Sherlock Holmes a borderline superhero engaging in bare-fist fighting? I just don’t get it. It has Netflix Watch Instantly written all over it.

The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus? Ehhh…honestly, I think the trailer is cool as hell, but Terry Gilliam is too weird, and I’ve disliked too many of his films to believe that this will be any different. My main motivation is really just to see Heath Ledger’s final performance. I still want to see it, but I think I’ll wait for Netflix.

Anyway, here’s what I have seen the past two weeks, whether in theatres or at home, but still 2009 releases…

Read the rest of the article at my domain, www.cineastejohn.com.

  1. 01.29.2010 at 7:41 am

    I actually quite liked Paranormal. But you are right, I really need to watch it again before I label it a “keeper”. For me, it may be like the movie Open Water. I saw that in the theater, and I was just frozen in my seat (I’m WAY too afraid of sharks) for the whole movie. I still think it’s a good one-and-done viewing experience – but the second time I saw it, it did nothing for me. The situation itself is horrible, but the events don’t really go anywhere. Also, the first time I saw Walk Hard, I laughed a few times; but the second time I watched it I was bored out of my mind.

    I can totally see Crazy Heart being like you say. even in the previews, and from everything I’ve heard, it seems like it’s just an awards-vehicle for Bridges. Not saying that’s a bad thing (I like him), but it doesn’t make me want to see the movie. It would be like watching a Jeff Bridges audition tape for future movie roles.

    • 02.4.2010 at 2:07 pm

      Yeah the film is just insanely average and derivative. Too bad.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
