Home > film, lists, oscar nominations > The Oscars Preview: Part 1, Nominations

The Oscars Preview: Part 1, Nominations

02.3.2010

The Oscar nominations have arrived. In years past, I’ve been very bitter about certain snubs and certain inclusions. Last year, The Dark Knight and WALL-E were my biggest snubs for Best Picture and felt it was a complete failure on the Academy to have left them out. The system is very flawed, but that’s a much longer conversation. Last year was relevant though because it forced the hand of the Academy to expand the Best Picture nominees from 5 to 10 due to the exclusion of The Dark Knight. The last time we had more than 5 nominated films was 1943, when Casablanca took home the prize in a field of 10. Anyway, I have my reservations about what this means, but again, that’s a longer conversation. Here are the nominees and who I think will win in bold. I’ll offer up my nominations and what I think should win to follow in Part 2 next week in the major categories, as I can’t speak to some of what’s below because they are inaccessible (e.g. Live Action & Animated Short Films).

Read the rest of the article at my domain, www.cineastejohn.com.

  1. 02.5.2010 at 11:35 am

    Wow. It looks like you and I agree with the major choices except for one. Check out my analysis on my Flik/Spec section.

    I’ll be sure to come on here – or you to my site – to say “Told you so!” after the Oscars.

    • 02.5.2010 at 5:13 pm

      I’m all for the feel good story of Sandra Bullock, but that story needs to end here. She really does not deserve to win an Oscar for that performance, especially since Carey Mulligan is involved. Did she do the best acting job you’ll ever see in that kind of sports genre movie? Probably. But Oscar-winning worthy? No way.

      • 02.8.2010 at 8:21 am

        I would have to 100% agree with you that she doesn’t deserve to win. However, that’s not always the case when it comes to who WILL win. When you read my blog, I wasn’t voting for my favorites. Turst me, if Sandra loses, I’ll be THRILLED to see you comment “I told you so” – however, there’s a chance she’ll take the prize.

        The Oscars are famous for people winning (or even being nominated) when they shouldn’t. Marisa Tomei in “My Cousin Vinny”? Great movie, she did great, but that movie didn’t even deserve to have ANY nominations. Also, I was glad Rourke didn’t win for “The Wrestler”. He’s fine and all in acting (I guess), but NOTHING about his performance was worth ANY praise. Gratned, he wasn’t horrible, but that role just shouldn’t have been considered for awards at all.

        • 02.8.2010 at 10:40 am

          Well I’d disagree with that entire 2nd paragraph. I thought Rourke was hands down the best actor last year, and I think Tomei deserved her Oscar for “My Cousin Vinny.” I thought “The Wrestler” should have been nominated for Best Picture, it was without a doubt one of my top 5 of last year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
